God is so good

My first art journal page!

Image

Though, it took me about half a year to complete.  I really don’t remember what I did to the background.  I gesso’ed the page, and then, just added lots of blues, purples, and black acrylic paints. There are multiple layers of paint because I kept re-doing it and re-doing it. There is some shimmer, too.  For the stars, I mixed some light gold acrylic paint (I believe it was Jacquard) with Golden light molding paste.  This was actually my first time using molding paste, so it’s kind of a mess.  But, it’s ok.  I still think it turned out ok. 🙂 The streaks kind of look like the tails of shooting stars (or at least, that’s what I pretend they are!) 🙂  I used a Studio Calico stencil.

For the grass, I tore out a page of an old children’s book about God.  I used all the green gelatos to color it, and then modpodged it onto the bottom.  I put the lyrics to “God is so good” along the top of the “grass” with a Sakura white gel pen.  I didn’t plan it out, but, amazingly, the lyrics fit perfectly twice~  

The silhouettes on the bottom left are supposed to be my little family – me, K, and J.  🙂  I drew it with a Prismacolor black marker. 

This page signifies last year for me – God has truly been good to me, and to us (our family).  K has been and continues to be an amazing husband, and now an awesome father. J was born, and although it was tough at times, he is a sweet, happy, and very hyper little boy.  I couldn’t have asked for more.  

Some close ups:

Image  Image

 

Unfortunately, I really don’t remember the products I used for this project.  I will be better in the future!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

