testing…

Hmm.. I must say that I’m a little scurred.  I’m very new to this “craft blogging” and I’m not even sure if I’ll be able to keep it updated since I am extremely shy about sharing my work.  But, this year, I want to be more productive with my time, so I thought I could start something like this so that when I’m inspired, I can record it for times when I am feeling very uninspired.. If that makes any sense.  I hope that I feel inspired often enough to make it worthwhile to keep this blog.

For now, I guess I can share a couple of birthday cards I made for my brother-in-law and my grandmother-in-law.

 

I just used paper to add layers for these cards.  I used the Cosmo Cricket Girl Friday & Everafter double deck card (so I’m not sure which stack the paper’s I used are from). 

This one was for my grandmother:   

I added some detail elements with a white gel pen, and of course ribbon.  The sentiment is also a white gel pen in my own handwriting. The card base is craft card stock, and I believe the size was 4×6.  I kept it very simple.

For my brother in law, I used a brown cardstock base.  I also added a strip of the brown cardstock and I did some stamping and embossing with a Hero Arts Clear Stamps set (I believe it’s a Birthday Set).  I also ended up adding some faux stitching with a white gel pen. I was sort of unhappy with the way the embossing came out.. I wanted it to be clear, but I used a detail white/opaque rather than clear/transparent so it came out kind of smoky-looking. xP  Oh well.  The card base is a brown cardstock, again 4×6. 

It also has a starbucks gift card tucked into it. x)  This card did not turn out the way that I imagined because I made a BIG mistake and had to basically cover it up with paper, haha~ But I think I liked the way it turned out in the end (other than the ugly embossing job, of course).

Please forgive the low quality photos. xP  I was using a new camera and I don’t think I quite get the settings yet.  That and these cards were photographed in the wee hours of the night.  Hopefully I get better at this… soon.

Until then, if you happen upon my blog, I’d appreciate any comments you may have.  x)  Thanks for stopping by, and I hope y’all had a very happy and healthy new years!

Leave a Reply

